A WordPress Skill Lab

Navigating the Site: Revisited

This has been a classic “learning experience” for Mary. I have a knack for making a mess of simple things, but I am fortunate to have friends who rescue me when things seem hopeless.

The original version of this post described an awkward fix to a simple problem, and the fix turned out to be worse than the problem. Happily the situation was reported (in the comments) by two of my followers, pros with blogs I admire very much and read regularly.

I have chosen not to entertain you with my misadventures. Instead I’ll  provide links to my colleagues’ blogs for your enjoyment. They are as different as two blogs can be but equally interesting, creative and well crafted.

My Guilty Pleasures by Viveka and Expat in Brazil by Maggie. Enjoy!

Best wishes from your  Novice Blogger.

5 responses

  1. Sorry Mary is there meant to be some content or a link here? Hope it’s not a problem…you have may deepest sympathy if it is!
    Maggie@CampinBrazil

    March 22, 2014 at 3:31 am

  2. mcrohio

    Thanks, Maggie! I see you’ve been busy. I appreciate all the feedback and will respond to all. I should either complete or delete this one. I want to give readers a direct route to the widgets at the bottom of the blog, but so far can’t figure out how to do it.

    Since this is a self-training blog I’m going to complete this post by explaining my goal and why I have failed so far. Maybe some skillful reader will make a suggestion.
    Thanks again,
    Mary

    March 22, 2014 at 5:41 am

  3. Mary, the link doesn’t work … ended up on an empty page. *smile
    I’m willing to help if you only tell me where you want the link to lead ???? Your first post???
    You got to all posts – you look up the post you want to link up with .. then you copy the short link code and add that to media section for URL, I think it’s called.

    May 6, 2014 at 8:34 am

    • mcrohio

      Viveka,
      You are a dear to send me feedback! In this case it’s not what you thought. The link “worked” but it failed to accomplish what I intended. The reader still had to scroll below it for the menus – not obvious, too cumbersome and very confusing as you discovered.

      But that led to the REAL fix. Some widgets at the bottom were repeats of the sidebar with different names, so I deleted those and returned the rest to the right-hand sidebar which now is not too long. Problem eliminated!
      Now I am deleting that confusing post about “learning experience”.
      Thank you for setting me on the right path. I am learning, learning.
      Mary at Counterpoint

      May 6, 2014 at 10:05 am

      • Mary, we have to … make mistakes before we success and that goes for everything in life.
        There isn’t anything that can’t be fixed .. if things goes wrong, so … just play and enjoy !!!!!

        May 6, 2014 at 2:45 pm

Leave a Reply

